top of page

Rays Arozarena and Reds India Take ROTY Awards

The BBWAA got something right for  change

Alert the rest of the media. Yes folks the Bartles & James crew of sports writers tossed the first pitch of their annual awards week by announcing Rookie Of the year Awards for both the American: Randy Arozarena and National Leagues:  Jonathan India. From a dimly lit Denny’s someplace in the Midwest while waiting on their early bird specials. And yes they got it right. I don’t want to hear it (Once Ichiro won ROTY all bets are off ) Arozarena is eligible and he deserved it.

Cincinnati Reds second baseman Jonathan India was named the National League’s top rookie, and it was almost unanimous. India received 29 of 30 first-place votes to earn the NL Rookie of the Year Award on Monday night. India is the first Reds’ player to do so since Scott Williamson in 1999. He had all but one first place vote. That went to Trevor Rogers of the Marlins. Turns out a BBWAA writer from Cincy whom i will not publicize was the lone hold out.  

Proud dad ❤️@JonathanIndia gave his dad a special signed baseball after winning NL ROY! — MLB (@MLB) November 16, 2021

Tampa Bay Rays outfielder Randy Arozarena took the honors for the American League with 22 first of the 30 first place votes. Arozarena exploded on the field last year with an amazing postseason winning the ALCS MVP batting .377 with 10 home runs and 14 RBI. He backed that up going .274/20/96 in his first full season in the Bigs. 

This is how Randy Arozarena and his family reacted when they heard the news that he is the winner of the AL Rookie of the Year — Héctor Gómez (@hgomez27) November 16, 2021

Here’s how the voting broke down.


Jonathan India, CIN: 29 (first-place votes), 1 (second) – 148 points

Trevor Rogers, MIA: 1 (1st), 26 (2nd), 3 (3rd) — 86 points

Dylan Carlson, STL: 3 (2nd), 13 (3rd) – 22 points

Patrick Wisdom, CHC: 5 (3rd) – 5 points

Ian Anderson, ATL: 3 (3rd) – 3 points

Tyler Stephenson, CIN: 2 (3rd) – 2 points

Frank Schwindel, CHC: 2 (3rd) – 2 points

David Bednar, PIT: 1 (3rd) – 1 point

Vladimir Gutierrez, CIN: 1 (3rd) — 1 point


Randy Arozarena, TB: 22 (first-place votes), 4 (2nd), 2 (3rd) — 124 points

Luis Garcia, HOU: 2 (1st), 15 (2nd), 8 (3rd) — 63 points

Wander Franco, TB: 2 (1st), 5 (2nd), 5 (3rd) — 30 points

Adolis García, TEX: 3 (1st), 1 (2nd), 9 (3rd) — 27 points

Emmanuel Clase, CLE: 1 (1st), 2 (2nd) — 11 points

Ryan Mountcastle, BAL: 2 (2nd), 4 (3rd) –10 points

Shane McClanahan, TB: 1 (2nd) — 3 points

Alek Manoah, TOR: 2 (3rd) — 2 points

As always follow/give me grief on Twitter @Tmurph207

1 view0 comments


bottom of page