top of page

NBA renames MVP Trophy after Michael Jordan

The National Basketball Association announced, Tuesday, the renaming of five end-of-year trophies, with the MVP trophy now being called The Michael Jordan Trophy.

"Our new collection of trophies celebrates some of the greatest and most impactful players in the history of the NBA," said NBA Commissioner Adam Silver. "As we recognize the league’s top performers each season, we also pay tribute to the legends who embody these prestigious awards."

The trophy will stand 23.6 inches tall and weigh 23.6 pounds, an ode to Jordan’s jersey number and NBA Finals wins.

Jordan’s name replaces Maurice Podoloff, the league's first commissioner.

The NBA Defensive Player of the Year will be the Hakeem Olajuwon Trophy; NBA Rookie of the Year will be the Wilt Chamberlain Trophy; Sixth Man of the Year will be called the John Havlicek Trophy; and the Most Improved Player of the Year will be the George Mikan Trophy.

36 views0 comments
bottom of page