top of page

Jackson State Takes Home Four Major Postseason Honors Of The 2022 SWAC Football Season

Updated: Dec 2, 2022

Photo Credit: Gerry Melendez

The Southwestern Athletic Conference announced all-league honors (Nov 29). To no surprise, Jackson State Football dominated by winning four significant awards as 12 players were elected to the all-conference team.

Coach Deion Sanders aka. Coach Prime received the 2022 Coach of the Year award, and it is Coach Prime's second time winning the award. The last time was in 2021. Jackson State quarterback Shedeur Sanders won Offensive Player of the Year, Kevin Coleman Freshman of the Year, and Aubrey Miller rounded out the fourth major award as the Defensive Player of the Year.

The 2022 Jackson State football program made history as the first team to finish the season with a perfect 11-0 record. The nation's top-ranked FCS defense, the Tigers held ten teams to 14 points or less. Over the past two seasons, the Tigers have a record of 22-2, and it is the program's second consecutive season going undefeated in SWAC Conference play.

Much of the credit goes to Coach Prime and his staff, and their ability to get the best out of their players. His demand for dominance not only on the field but in life period shows his character as a human being.

I mean who wouldn't want to be coached by someone like Coach Prime?!

Jackson State's 3 Major First Team All-Swac Honorees

This season, Shedeur Sanders sets records for most touchdown passes (32) and completions (284) in a single season, to go along with 3,083 total passing yards and five rushing touchdowns. He helped lead his team to an 11-0 record, the program's first-ever perfect season.

It has been a long-decade drought, but Sanders is the first player JSU player since WR Rico Richardson (2012) to win the SWAC Player of the Year award. He is also a finalist for the 2022 Walter Payton Award given to the best offensive player in FCS.

Linebacker Aubrey Miller Jr. is a heat-sinking missile on the defensive side of the ball. Miller made 98 tackles, 53 solos, three forced fumbles, two recovered fumbles, one sack, and one touchdown. Miller has had games where he recorded 19, 17, and 11 tackles, respectfully.

He is a finalist for the Buck Buchanan Award given to the best FCS defensive player in the country.

Not to mention Miller recently accepted an invite to the Reese's Senior Bowl held in Mobile, Alabama.

With Kevin Coleman Jr. being the league's Freshman of the Year, it makes the second consecutive year that a JSU player has won the award. Sanders won the award in 2021. Coleman is a do it all type of player, with his agility and quickness. This season, he totaled 603 all-purpose yards. Coleman caught 32 passes for 320 yards and a touchdown. He averaged 8.7 yards on punt returns and 25.7 yards on kickoff returns.

The JSU Tigers' next match-up will be Saturday, in Jackson, Mississippi, against Southern University for the 2022 SWAC Championship. Coach Prime and the Tigers' will be looking to secure their second straight SWAC title.

Jackson State's 12 All-SWAC First And Second-Team Players

Offensive Player of the Year: Shedeur Sanders

Defensive Player of the Year: Aubrey Miller Jr.

Freshman Player of the Year: Kevin Coleman Jr.

All-Swac First Team Offense

Quarterback: Shedeur Sanders

Running back: Sy'Veon Wilkerson

Offensive Lineman: Tyler Brown

Wide Receiver: Dallas Daniels

All-Swac First Team Defense

Defensive Lineman: Nyles Gaddy

Linebacker: Aubrey Miller Jr.

Defensive Back: Cam'ron Silmon-Craig

All-Swac Second Team Offense

Wide Reciever: Shane Hooks

Tight End: D.J. Stevens

All-Swac Second Team Defense

Defensive Lineman: Justin Ragin

Defensive Back: Isaiah Bolden

All-Swac Second Team Specialist

Kicker: Alejandro Mata

86 views0 comments
bottom of page